poemless. a slap in the face of public taste.

June 9, 2010

Odds & Ends: Insomnia Edition.

A thought I had while riding the el, sleep-deprived:

It is conventional wisdom that the fall of the USSR was a glorious populist event that would have been something pleasant if it had not been set back by the greedy, corrupt, lawless and undemocratic actions that followed as a result of the chaos brought on by the fall of the USSR. In fact, the literal dissolution of the Soviet Union was a greedy, corrupt and undemocratic action that set the stage for those that followed. It was the first land grab of the 1990’s. Ha!

Well, it sounded more profound on the el. Probably the bearded tranny staring at me while I thought it gave it extra oomph. Honestly, just when I get comfortable with everyone’s unique sexuality, I’m commuting with a bearded transvestite. I want to scream, “Is this a game? Why can’t you just choose?!” But his or her (his and her?) sexuality is not mine to judge or make demands of. Still, I resent being made to guess what pronoun to use. Or how many.

~ Every moose is crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man.

I want to be this baby elk.

~ Gorbachev is not a dick.

This is a lovely interview. If you read it and return here and still think he is, you better keep it to yourself, or I’ll refuse to marry you, too.

~ “foreign video games accused of committing “ideological sabotage” by painting Russia as a country of spies, villains and bears riding unicycles.”

Maybe because dead poets, cold showers and cabbage soup are boring topics for video games… Don’t think they haven’t tried:


More recently came the release of “Eugene Onegin: Devil’s Mercy”, which sought to provide a lesson in literature by rendering the hero of Alexander Pushkin’s masterpiece as a zombie killer. But neither of these titles fared well with critics despite rave revues from Russian officials.

In fairness, the original Pushkin poem on which the game is based is pretty damn boring too. Wish it had zombies…

~ Some person with a blog wrote this:

It’s just, I don’t like attracting certain persons to my blog. Anyway, this is not about the author, it’s about McFaul.


Michael McFaul sent me a message on Facebook (I friended him because I thought he might have press releases on his profile or some comments on these meetings) and said he understood I was a critic of his commission with Surkov, said he wanted to understand my views better, and offered me a phone number.

I’m pretty sure the fact that Vladislav Surkov 1) does not have a facebook page, 2) does not care to know my opinion of his work and 3) has not given me his phone number is the clearest illustration yet of everything that is wrong with Russia. Especially that last part. I’m going to friend McFaul and see what the Civil Society Working Group can do to rectify this situation.

~ Единая Россия Fail.

Or maybe he won. I don’t know…

~ Genius.

Apologies to whomever I was calling a genius last week. I know I was ready to run away with Shklovsky. But this time it is for real, I swear. Forget what I said about having to read some 1920’s avant garde poetry. I have found true love! Daniel Kalder is the one for me!

Hole in my heart left by the eXile? Filled.

~ Music only dogs can hear.

“Vicious…” Meh, dogs are pretty indiscriminate. I can’t see them appreciating Lou Reed or Laurie Anderson. Most people who are not dogs can’t even do that. Probably it is a good thing only dogs can hear Anderson, actually. PETA might want to boycott this.

~ Hitch has an autobio… er, memoir out. It’s probably not as awesomely offensive as this interview.


Hitch: There are still people who want to criminalize homosexuality one way or another, and I thought it might be useful if more heterosexual men admitted that they are a little bit gay, as is everyone, and that homosexuality is a form of love and not just sex.

NYT: Not everyone is “a little bit gay,” as you say. Do you think your basic sexual confusion underlies your political confusions? [...]

NYT: Your mother committed suicide, in a pact with a lover, in 1973. Did she suffer from lifelong depression?

Hitch: No. I think she was having a bad menopause, and she was losing her looks, which were pretty impressive.

~ “чисто по-мужски?”

If you think I write like a man, you should watch me install an air conditioner. Though, IIRC, most men cry and curse when doing that. Someone should compare me to a ninja. Because that’s how I install an air conditioner.

Ok, thanks for reading.

Stay tuned for my review of Lost Cosmonaut. Hint #1: One reviewer called it “A cult waiting to happen.” Hint #2: I’m joining.

4 Comments »

  1. so, wait… which part of the Hitchins’ interview did you find offensive? was it 1) that he said everyone was a little bit gay; 2) where the interviewer asked about his mother’s suicide pact with her lover; or 3) where Hitch blamed it on menopause and lost looks… you’re confusing me with too many choices. Or maybe Hitch is… or the writer…

    Comment by Izzy — June 10, 2010 @ 1:01 AM | Reply

    • I think the NYT was just as offensive as Christopher. “Do you think your basic sexual confusion underlies your political confusions?” Really, NYT? But the assertion his mom killed herself because she was losing her looks is pretty sick and wrong too.

      Comment by poemless — June 10, 2010 @ 11:35 AM | Reply

  2. Did I read it incorrectly, or did Gorbachev refer to himself in the third person at one point in the interview with Dejevsky? I mean, naturally, I would do the same if I were him, or maybe go with something like “You don’t mess with The Gorby.”

    Comment by James — June 10, 2010 @ 1:49 PM | Reply

    • At first I thought it was typo thing, the quotes misplaced, but I think you are correct. How funny!

      Comment by poemless — June 10, 2010 @ 2:02 PM | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

